Marble-Boyle Undergraduate Achievement Awards in Geographic Science

Application deadline October 15, 2009

The Association of American Geographer’s Marble Fund for Geographic Science is pleased to announce the 2010 Marble-Boyle Undergraduate Achievement Awards. These awards promote and recognize excellence in academic performance by undergraduate students in the United States and Canada who bridge geographic science and computer science in their studies. These awards, together with the William L. Garrison Award for Best Dissertation in Computational Geography, are sponsored by the Marble Fund and are supported by donations to the Fund. In the case of the current awards, the support of Mr. Jack Dangermond and Mrs. Grace Boyle is gratefully acknowledged.

The undergraduate awards are named for Dr. Duane Marble, creator of the Marble Fund, and for the late Dr. A. R. (Ray) Boyle who was a major Canadian contributor to the early development of both computer cartography and geographic information systems. Winners of the 2009 awards were Joanna Merson of the University of Victoria and Kenneth Robertson of Central Michigan University. Both worked as ESRI Interns during the Summer of 2009 and Ms. Merson will spend the fall in Switzerland as the winner of the supplemental MicroGIS Foundation for Spatial Analysis (MFSA) fellowship.

For more details about the award including applications and eligibility rules please see the AAG website at: